Nitish Kumar: Know the political journey of 7-time Chief Minister Nitish Kumar who broke alliance with BJP. Know the political journey of Nitish Kumar, the 7-time Chief Minister of Bihar, who broke the alliance with the BJP



Oi-prem gaur


Published: Tuesday, August 9, 2022, 17:01 [IST]

Google One India News

Patna, August 8: Once Nitish Kumar broke the old relationship with BJP by showing his aggressive attitude. There is no doubt that Nitish Kumar is a seasoned player in politics, after holding the chair of Chief Minister of Bihar for 7 times now he is all set for the 8th term. He has resigned from the post of Chief Minister after officially announcing his separation from the BJP in a meeting of his MLAs on Tuesday. Nitish was constantly angry with the BJP on several issues, after which the situation reached a point where he changed his course. Now once again the Mahagathbandhan government is going to be formed in Bihar. In such a situation, know his political journey from Engineer Nitish Kumar to Chief Minister Nitish Kumar…

    Nitish Kumar's political journey

Politics came after becoming an engineer

Born on 1 March 1951 in Bakhtiarpur, Bihar, Nitish Kumar’s father Kaviraj Ram Lakhan Singh was an Ayurvedic doctor as well as a freedom fighter. Nitish Kumar’s mother Parameshwari Devi was a housewife. He pursued a degree in mechanical engineering from NIT Patna and then got a job in the Bihar State Electricity Board. Although he did not like the job, he chose politics.

After losing twice, he became an MLA for the first time in 1985

Nitish Kumar was greatly influenced by Jaiprakash Narayan, Ram Manohar Lohia, Karpuri Thakur and George Fernandes. In 1974 he was associated with the JP movement. He started his political life in the year 1977, although after being defeated twice, he reached the Vidhan Sabha for the first time in 1985 as an MLA from Harnaut.

Became a Member of Parliament 6 times, held the responsibility of Minister of Railways and Agriculture

In 1989, Nitish Kumar became active in Delhi politics and was made General Secretary of the Janata Dal. In the same year, he contested the Lok Sabha elections and became a Janata Dal Member of Parliament from twelve seats. Then in 1991 and after that in 1996 and 1998 also became MP consecutively. After which he became the Railway Minister in the Vajpayee cabinet in 1998. But he resigned from his post after the Kishanganj train accident. Then in the year 1999, Nitish Kumar was elected Member of Parliament for the 5th time, after which he held the charge of Agriculture Minister at the Center and also held the additional charge of Railways in 2001. In 2004, Nitish Kumar became the sixth and last Member of Parliament.

Became CM for a few days in 2000, had to resign

While in the NDA, Nitish Kumar was elected as the NDA leader in Bihar, after which he became the Chief Minister for the first time in 2000, though his tenure was only for a few days. The NDA with 151 MLAs could not prove a majority in the then 324 member House. Nitish Kumar had to resign before proving his point. After this in the year 2005, Nitish Kumar once again became the Chief Minister and his tenure lasted from November 2005 to November 2010.

Broke ties with BJP in 2013, contested the Lok Sabha elections alone

After this, he took oath as the Chief Minister of Bihar in 2010 as well, but in the meantime, before the Lok Sabha elections in 2014, his car running with the BJP derailed. In June 2013, he severed his earlier ties with the BJP when it became clear that the NDA’s Narendra Modi would be the prime ministerial candidate. Then, taking responsibility for the crushing defeat in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, he resigned from the post of Chief Minister and handed over the command of Bihar to Jitan Ram Manjhi. A year later, in 2015, Nitish Kumar again became the Chief Minister of Bihar.

Mahagathjod and then became CM

In February 2015, Nitish Kumar’s party JDU entered into an alliance with the Rashtriya Janata Dal led by Lalu Prasad Yadav and contested the elections. Nitish Kumar became the Chief Minister of the Mahagathjod with the support of Rashtriya Janata Dal, Congress and Left parties. After ruling the government for 20 months, he left the Mahagathjod and joined the BJP in July 2017 and Nitish Kumar became the Chief Minister again. Bihar.

Nitish Kumar: The leader who took a U-turn in Bihar politicsNitish Kumar: The leader who took a U-turn in Bihar politics

Fought the election with the BJP, then broke the alliance

Then contested elections with BJP in 2020 and again took oath as Chief Minister. In this election, JDU got only 43 seats, while BJP won 74 seats. Although BJP made Nitish Kumar the CM after getting more seats, but after getting angry with BJP on many issues, now (August 2022) once again breaking ties with BJP, Nitish Kumar joined hands with Mahagathbandhan and once again ruled Bihar. going to handle Our own hands.

To get latest news from Oneindia. Get news updates throughout the day.

Allow notifications

You are already a subscriber

English summary

Know the political journey of 7-time Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar who broke alliance with BJP

First story published: Tuesday, August 9, 2022, 17:01 [IST]


Leave a Reply